Tags

,

This is a weird feeling.  I haven’t written in this space for months after writing nearly every day for almost a year.  And it has been good.  Life has returned, full and vibrant, and I am back to being the mom of six healthy, active, energetic children and wife to a very itchy husband.  More on that another time.

So why write again?

Well… my kids are doing something very brave and exciting and just in case anyone is still reading this, I wanted to let you know.  My four oldest are shaving their heads to raise money for cancer research.  We had talked about doing this last year but maybe the whole experience of being bald was still too raw for Thomas.  On Sunday, our dear friends the Alvarados, and their lovely sister, will be hosting a St. Baldrick’s Shave-A-Thon.  Thomas is brave for facing the memories of baldness but I have to say, my cheers are being raised for my girls who are willing to do this.  Hair grows.  They know it and I think they are excited to show their solidarity with those suffering in cancer treatment.

http://www.stbaldricks.org/teams/mypage/87392/2013

This is the link to my kids’ page for raising funds.  St. Baldrick’s is the largest funder of research for childhood cancer outside of the US government.  We know Thomas certainly benefitted from years of research into his disease and we pray and hope for kids battling less treatable cancers for a similar happy outcome.  Please join us in helping St. Baldrick’s help those who are finding new cures for cancer.

Here we are, looking spiffy, at our Easter celebration.  We’ll post an after picture too, I promise.

Image

 

