Tags

, , ,

This is the news we have been waiting to hear.  Thomas’ lungs look completely clear, not even a pin-sized spot remains.  We could not have received a better Christmas present on this Wednesday before Christmas.  Thomas’ relief is great.  The last week has been emotionally difficult for him as he contemplated another scan and the possibility of unwelcome news.  He repeatedly told us, “I just don’t think I can go through it again.”  We both felt so much weight for the weight he was carrying.  It was another point for him to turn to the Lord himself, laying his burdens down and choosing to look to God.

During Advent, our church has been singing songs from the Taize community in France.  Last week Thomas played viola with the other strings during worship and as we practiced the songs together, one song particularly stuck out to me.

In the Lord I’ll be ever thankfulIn the Lord I will rejoice.  

Look to God, do not be afraid!  

Lift up your voices the Lord is near, lift up your voices the Lord is near

I was singing it with Thomas and we were both reminded to look to God and live without fear.  We finished practicing and went to bed.  I forgot something in the kitchen and walked back out after everyone was asleep.  I heard Thomas singing the song over and over in his room.  It made me cry, hearing him remind himself of the truth.  Truly, we are thankful for this good report.  We can all breathe just a little easier and no visits until March!  What a great Christmas gift for us and our hearts are full of thanks.  Merry Christmas to you all and may God’s peace rule in your hearts.

